History of Agoonoree

The concept of Queensland's Agoonoree was originally adopted from the Japanese, when in 1979 three members of the Scout Movement Peter Blatch, Geoff Doo and Andrew Dufficy attended the 3rd Nippon Agoonoree.

They brought back these ideas, and in 1980 the first Queensland Agoonoree was held here at Baden-Powell Park. The Agoonoree has been held every year since with the exception of 1982 when Queensland hosted the Australian Jamboree.

World History of Agoonoree

The first agoonoree was held as an experiment in the summer of 1947. The following year a full summer camp was held at Gilwell Park, and the Scout Counties of Greater London have been holding Agoonoree camps ever since.

Originally in London, one Agoonoree covered the whole region until the mid 1960s, then the camp became two, with one for the Central and Southern Counties and another for the Northern Counties.

Helped by the staff of the London Agoonoree to get the ball rolling, other camps followed. For example, the Yorkshire Agoonoree has now been operating for more than forty years.

There are lots of suggestions about where the name Agoonoree came from. One is that it was invented by Dutch Scouts and is derived from the Greek word 'agoon' which means a struggle or contest, and that the 'oree' was taken from the word Jamboree to make it sound more Scouty. There is no factual basis for this claim!

Camp Chiefs

1980 - 1989 Peter Blatch
1990 - 1992 Desley Clutterbuck (nee Auld)
1993 Des Sawyer
1994 - 1999 Ian Lightbody
2000 - 2004 Terry Rees
2005 - 2011 Michele Johnson
2012 - 2015 Melita Goff
2016 - Present Shaun Sandilands